Requesting Advice on a FreeNAS upgrade / rebuild

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mguilicutty

Explorer
Hello Everyone! I could use some advice on what path to take to and whether I should upgrade or rebuild my old FreeNAS box. I've added quite a lot background here so if you are not interested, just skip down a few paragraphs!

Due to work I have spent the majority of the last 2.5 years away from home and in my absence the 'ol FreeNAS has served my family well. While I have been around from time to time and have done some general maintenance, due to my travels the majority of time at home has been spent with the family. Now I am back home for good (hopefully, I got laid off and am seeking new employment...) and need to spend some time on my own IT infrastructure! I have a background in IT but mostly on the networking and the Windows admin side so I am not a complete noob but I see a lot has change around here in the past few years and most of the FreeNAS knowledge I had built up in the past has since escaped me.

Now let me geek out a little bit... When I originally built my NAS I was doing small business consulting and the box did dual home / business work for me. That is still true to a small extent but the primary use now will be for home. The system is quite capable as it is but her pools are filling up and I would like to increase performance in some areas. I've become spoiled working on 10 & 40Gb networks in the corporate world for the last couple of years!

The specs as she stands...
SuperMicro SC933 case w/ 15 3.5" spots.
SuperMicro X9DR7-LN4F Motherboard (only 1 cpu populated) (10 onboard Intel SATA + 8 SAS2 via LSI 2308)
Xeon E5-2620v1
32 GB ECC RAM
6x3TB Greens in RAIDZ2
6x3TB Greens in RAIDZ2 (second separate array)
2x3TB Greens in Raid1
1x240GB SSD (type forgotten)
FreeNAS 9.10.2 w/ current uptime of 101 days!