replacing my whs machine

Status
Not open for further replies.

alwu

Dabbler
i've been running an hp mediasmart server for about 10 years. it has windows home server on it; the 2007 version, not even vail/2011 version. the limitations of that os have been evident for a while. like i'm limited to a 0.9 version of plex and have to run plex classic on my roku. it's starting to run out of space, so rather than add another drive, i'd like to replace it with a freenas server. i think i got my money's worth out of it anyway.

i'd like to have around 10TB of storage. the server will be used to backup my windows computers and run jails for:
  • plex media server.
    • minimal transcoding. 99.9% of my streaming is to a roku 3 and i make sure to use movie files that can be direct played. if any transcoding is to happen, it will be content streamed from a plex channel.
  • transmission (i might add openvpn + pia. i need look into this more.)
  • logitech squeezebox server.
with a lot of my tech, i usually upgrade only when something dies or has aged enough, like my hp machine, so i'm willing to add a little headroom for a system that will last. here's what i'm thinking about getting. it's yet another x11ssm-f based build. nothing special about it.

Last edited:

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

loch_nas

Explorer
Where is the big difference between Pentium g4600 and i3-6300? They both provide HT and the gap between the clock speeds is very small.
Maybe I understand too little, but from my view the next logical step from a Pentium G4600 would be Xeon E3-12xx.

tvsjr

Guru
Personally, I'm a fan of overkill. If you're considering multiple jails, especially processor-intensive ones like Plex, I would opt for a quad-core part. The G4600 and the i3 are both dual-core.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Where is the big difference between Pentium g4600 and i3-6300? They both provide HT and the gap between the clock speeds is very small.