Recommended directory structure for media server

Status
Not open for further replies.

tundelas

Dabbler
Hi guys, sorry for this extremely noob question, but I'm very new to Linux and FreeNAS. I managed to get a RAIDZ1 setup to backup my external drives into. Currently all the data I transferred from external drives are under /mnt/storage/externaldrive1, /mnt/storage/externaldrive2, etc.
I have many random media files (movies, photos, music) inside the externaldrive1 and externaldrive2 directories, but I'd like to know if it's advisable/recommended that I organize all of my files from the /mnt directory to the /media directory. I'm new to the world of mounts and volumes, so if I cleaned out the directories from /mnt into /media/movies, /media/photos, /media/music, would it be as simple as file move commands or do I have to setup new mounts on /media?

Thanks.

HolyK

Ninja Turtle
I am using stubs/datasets for the main organize. Good thing about this is that i can choose where i want compression a where not. So for the already compressed things like encoded movies, ISOs, mp3, ... etc i am using separated datasets where i have compression off, for the rest like RAW video/photo, FLAC audio, documents, ... i have datasets with enabled compression.

From the client point of view it looks like directory, you can set permissions, share, whatever you want :]

joeschmuck

Old Man
From the perspective of if you plan to share your media over the network, like to a BluRay player (TV) or stream music and/or photos, then organization is important. In my personal experience I have found it better to organize these shared items as follows and these are examples, you can change the names as you wish, just do not use spaces in the names, use an underscore...
/media/movies
/media/music
/media/photos

If you have a ton of movies you might organize them like so...
/media/movies/A_M
/media/movies/N_Z