RAM Upgrade Questions

Chamrajnagar

Explorer
Supermicro A1SAi-2750F (Atom C2750)
1x Kingston ValueRAM 8GB DDR3L PC3-12800 ECC SODIMM
2x HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB 7200RPM

I've been using the above setup for 3-4 years. It's been working well and I just upgraded it to v11.2.

Primary usage is as network storage for 2-3 clients and as a Plex server. I just finished fixing the last part of my network, and now everything is capable of gigabit speeds.

Possible future usage: OwnCloud, Minecraft server. I'll likely add two more drives at some point in the next year or so.

I'm wondering about adding another 8GB of RAM.

File copy currently peaks at about 110MB/s, but also fluctuates quite a bit. In addition, the FreeNAS web GUI becomes unresponsive when I'm copying a large file. Would a RAM upgrade help with these issues?

Thanks

Last edited:

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
You're below spec right now for RAM if you're running Plex with only 8GB. That's the recommended minimum for just FreeNAS with no jails/plugins.

Possible future usage: OwnCloud, Minecraft server.

Definitely requires more RAM.

In addition, the FreeNAS web GUI becomes unresponsive when I'm copying a large file.

You're probably swapping heavily. What does your webGUI (or swapinfo from a command prompt) show for swap use?

Chamrajnagar

Explorer
You're probably swapping heavily. What does your webGUI (or swapinfo from a command prompt) show for swap use?

Looks like swap use is at 35% at idle and stays at 35% after I start a file copy from client to FreeNAS.

Considering the FreeNAS requirements you pointed out, another 8GB stick is probably wise. That would leave me two open slots, so I could potentially add another 32GB down the line for a total of 48GB if I ever need that much.

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems