Questions about RAM and other hardware

Status
Not open for further replies.
I must first admit I am new to building a NAS server.

And I find that I already have used a lot of time reading up about it in this forum and by using Google. But the amount of information is immense, and I am seing that finding just the right information for my build is hard, partly because it is spread out in a number of threads and forums, and the use of unfamilar terms are quite common, and also there are often contradictig and/or different views about different matters. (Not so much here at this forum, but more when using Google.) Some information just seem very hard to find.

That story aside; thank you, you guys for keeping this project and this forum running! It looks really nice, and thank you for your support!

Here is my new project, I will put focus into the following:

A) Low on power drain
B) Near silent
C) First and foremost a simple automated back up machine/NAS
D) Low on budget (within common sense)
E) Small form factor

I have following questions about RAM and other stuff:

1) On dual channel RAM motherboards, does it make sense to use just one RAM stick instead of two, if one look for less power consumption?
2) There seem to be contradicting opinions about the need of using registered RAM, but as I never seen it as a recommended hardware here at FreeNAS' official building guides, am I right then about that there are just no need for it?
3) May it make sense using DDR3ecc-compatible socket instead of DDR4ecc to save a few bucks, because booth the RAM, CPU and motherboard comes cheaper?
4) HDD question: Does it make more sense to buy three 2Gb HDD's (total 6Gb) and put them to RAIDz rather than buing two 3Gb HDD (total 6Gb) putting them to mirror? (I know of course the first option costs more money, and drains more power.)