Questions about RAM, Drives and Network cards for a FreeNAS cloud server....

Status
Not open for further replies.

dotpoka

Cadet
Hello ! First, I love FreeNAS... its an excellent product... I have been running a FreeNAS server in a farm environment for about 6 months now just after 8.0 was released.

I need some guidance on my hardware. I am using FreeNAS with ZFS2 in iSCSI mode to support 4 servers operating a Cloud of virtual machines. I have a 12 bay server with each bay filled with WD RE4 hard drives connected to 2 PCI-X 64bit controllers (6 on each).

---------
HARD DRIVES ? how best to allocate to STORAGE vs. SPARE vs. MIRROR vs. CACHE
---------

Each of my 12 drives are 2TB Western Digital RE4 (purchased refurbised from Newegg for $ 99 each!!!).

My setup: 8 of my 12 drives allocated to STORAGE forming a 9.7 TB volume with ZFS2. 1 of my 12 drives is allocated as a SPARE. 1 of my drives is allocated as CACHE. 2 of my drives are allocated as a LOG MIRROR.

QUESTION: I don't see any SWAP utilization taking place. Does this relate to the CACHE drive? If so, should I replace that 2TB RE4 with a smaller, 10K RPM 75GB Western Digital velocicaptor?

21163.png

QUESTION: I don't see where/how the 2 drives allocated to LOG MIRROR are being used. How much of the 2TB + 2TB drives are utilized by the LOG MIRROR? I also have the feeling about swapping out these larger drives for some smaller faster 10K RPM 75GB velociraptors. (Refurbished from newegg, the velociraptors were only $ 80 each!!!).

-----
RAM ? how much is enough ?
-----
Right now I have 16 GB of ram, and I see that my Physical Memory Utilization is always at or near capacity. I recently purchased more RAM and am trying to decide where to allocate it to. What type of performance boost would upgrading to 32GB RAM give me?

21164.png

--------------------
NETWORK CARDS ? do you think this would this work....
--------------------