BUILD Cards needed to attach disk enclosure to FreeNas server?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to FreeNAS and would really appreciate some advice. I've tried searching for this but can't find the basics needed to make sense of a lot what comes up in my searches.

Basically I have a refurb DL360 server I want to use as a FreeNAS box. It's got 12GB RAM and a quad core, so it should handle my data without issues. It's only got space for 2.5" drives however, which are very expensive when looking at 1TB / 2TB options.

Because of this, I'm looking to have another enclosure with maybe up to 10x 2TB 3.5" discs in it, which will then hopefully be controlled by the DL360.

I'm simply unsure how to link the two. I've looked at Fibre cards, but don't really know what I'm looking for.

What is the simplest way to have the drives in the enclosure machine show up on FreeNAS?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Simplest solution is:

HBA -> external SAS cable -> SAS expander -> drives

If you want more help, it would be a good idea to tell us more about that server of yours.

Thanks for your reply.

The server is this one here. It was a reasonable price for 12GB RAM and quad core, so I snatched it up. Originally I was going to put 6x 2TB 2.5" drives in there but it's damn expensive to do so compared to 3.5" drives, hence what I'm asking you here.

Ideally I'd have an enclosure with a max of around 10x 3.5" drives, even if I don't populate them all right away. Can you give any suggestions on what HBAs and expanders are suitable for this?
I'm looking for reasonable transfer rates but it's mostly just cold storage, media and such going on there - nothing that needs GB/s transfers.

I'm on a bit of a budget, so I'd prefer not spending £200 on SAS cards etc - for that I might as well just buy the 2.5" drives for this server ;).

Any advice would be great. Thanks.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler