BUILD Proposed low-energy NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glorious1

Guru
I store movie files and use them in XBMC/Kodi. As a storage solution, I first got this DatOptic enclosure and directly attached it to the Mac mini running XBMC. It's great in many ways and I LOVE the drive bays, but it really hasn't behaved as I would like. The drives spinning up and down wreak havoc trying to watch movies. When I use the little program "Keep Drive Spinning", then they're going 24/7, unless I eject the drives remotely, which is a pain, and shut the enclosure down. And it's difficult to manage and use for other storage needs.

So now I'm thinking of going the NAS route instead, and building my own. This is my first build of any kind, so I would appreciate any comments or suggestions on the plan. Things I'm looking for:
-- Capacity for 6-8 drives
-- Don't care about speed that much, as long as it can serve video
-- Energy efficiency
-- Use as a Time Machine backup for a few mac computers
-- Suitable hardware for FreeNAS
-- mini-ITX form factor should be big enough, but if someone knows of a bigger case that has 6-8 trayless, hot-swap bays like the DatOptic, I would consider that.

Case: Lian Li PC-Q25 It has a backplane for 5 drives, space for a few more, and reportedly is good at keeping cool. Actually, I thought about repurposing my DatOptic case instead of selling that unit, but there is no motherboard mounting system and building that in is a bit more than I want to get into. $95

Motherboard/CPU: ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard is a popular one for NAS systems. It has a low-power quad-core Intel Atom processor (there is also a version with the 8-core Atom, but for purely servering that probably isn't necessary), tons of SATA ports, Intel LAN controller which apparently is needed, IPMI for remotely setting it up, and other good features. Downside is only 2 USB2 ports, but I can live with that. $280