Problems with boot-pool and startup after clean install

h.enrik

Cadet
Hi,
I am having issues with getting my truenas installation to boot after a clean install.
Let's just begin with that i am a real beginner when it comes to Linux systems and truenas systems. This is the first truenas box im trying to set up. I've used ubuntu before on my laptop and only did some basic stuff through terminal.
I got hold on some older HP systems for real cheap and though they would be great for a basic home lab and nas. But im running into some issues.

The system i'm trying to run this on is a older HP computer, HP RP5800 Desktop with:
Intel Core i5 2400
8gb DDR3 HP memory
two Toshiba 500gb HDD and a SSD for boot.

I made the installation drive on my laptop using win10 and rufus 3.20, ejected the drive. Boot up on the HP system and goes through the installation with no problems. The screen with "installation successful reboot and remove installationmedia" pops up. I shut down the system and remove the drive. Try booting up, and the system displays a blank screen with text: "Non-system disk or disk error. No bootable device found". And here the problems begin.

The SSD im using for boot are brand new Kingston SA400S37/240G.

First i thought the drive was bad so i tried with an old SSD i had at home, an Crucial M4 64gb. Same issue.
Thought the boot order was wrong. tried change it, nope.
Tried disable all the security settings in bios if the old desktop wouldnt let it boot. Still problem.
Installed the latest bios from HP. Problem remains.
Switched sata ports on motherboard, still problem.
Disconnected the HDDs, still problem.
Disabled efi boot devices, and legacy boot devices vice versa. No fix.