Fresh TrueNAS install Won’t Complete First Boot

Tlister

Cadet
Hi all,

While I’m a IT professional for the last 10 years or so, I’m new to TrueNAS. The setup process seemed fairly easy and straightforward, though has been seemingly anything but that for me.

Issue: System will not complete first boot after installation. Final line in boot process:

i915 000:00:02.0: enabling device (0006 -> 0007)

I have attempted about everything at this point as far as troubleshooting goes. I tried booting from iGPU with nvidia GPU out of system but with that, the video signal goes dead after what appears to be this same point in the boot process. The system is not getting to console setup, and is not consuming an IP address.

Hardware:

HP ProDesk 400 G4
Intel i5-7500
8GB DDR4 RAM
128GB SATA SSD
2 x 4TB Seagate Constellation ES.3 7200RPM 3.5” HDD
Intel HD 630 graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 730 2GB

Screenshot is attached of point of boot hang.

Attachments

• 21C43776-676F-4F61-9643-A4FDAEACBC10.jpeg
    21C43776-676F-4F61-9643-A4FDAEACBC10.jpeg
    266.6 KB · Views: 319

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Intel i5-7500
Intel HD 630 graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 730 2GB
Most users have zero GPUs, why do you feel the need to have two of them? Which of them are you even monitoring? What do you have configured in the system setup as the primary video output?
It looks like the system hangs just about at the point where the graphics mode might be switched to the native driver, instead of relying on UEFI video modes.
I tried booting from iGPU with nvidia GPU out of system but with that, the video signal goes dead after what appears to be this same point in the boot process.