Plex Media Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeschmuck

Old Man
Looking into the automatic scanner problem so I'm trying to figure out how to invoke the Plex Scanner from within the jail via command line. I was able to locate some commands for an older version of Plex but I'm not having much luck finding stuff about this version. The older version of Plex Scanner the command line was "Scanner -s" to force a rescan.

Of course I was planning to modify my MiniDLNA script to meet this need since I'm not a programmer and simple scripts are just easy. I would really like to see the plugin just use Kqueue to monitor the library files but that is an update to the code that I'm definitely not currently capable of doing.

EDIT: I was able to locate the command which I think starts up the Plex Media Server located at "/usr/pbi/plexmediaserver-amd64/share/plexmediaserver/start.sh" but I run into some errors of course. But maybe this isn't what I'm really looking for.

Jeren

Dabbler
I had some trouble with streaming playback so I had to change my /etc/group within the jail for it to work.

Code:
jls
JID  IP Address      Hostname                      Path
  1  -              plex_1                        /mnt/tank/jails/plex_1

to get the jail id, then
Code:
jexec 1 csh

to get into the jail.
Code:
vi /etc/group

to edit the groups file and add plex to the wheel group so that it looks like:
Code:
wheel:whatever_you_had_here_before:plex

joeschmuck

Old Man
I had some trouble with streaming playback so I had to change my /etc/group within the jail for it to work.
What kind of trouble?

Jeren

Dabbler
What kind of trouble?
Something on the order of the video never playing back any videos. I think it was because the remuxing process saved a local copy but the plex user didn't have write privileges in the eyes of freenas.

amen

Dabbler
hi!