Playing cd games from nas

Svon

Cadet
Hi all,

I’m new to free nas and having a server in general I’ve got basic usage from it but I’m trying to see what kind of usage I can really get out of it. My girlfriend has a million cd games (nancy drew) and I think it would be cool to be able to take our cd games, download them all onto the nas and be able to just load it up when you want to play it. Is that unrealistic since it has to install on the computer or is there a way do it all from the server?

I think I know the answer but if anyone has any out of the box thinking that would be appreciated as well. Thanks in advance!

Svon

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
You could capture the CD to an ISO file then mount the ISO via the network when you want to use it.

Svon

Cadet
Thank you! is there any documentation on how to go about mounting an iso image and accessing it across the network?

Thanks

Syrus

Svon

Cadet
If you think i’m not googling it first then you’re wrong. I’m sorry if this is beginner stuff but I’d prefer a helpful answer. My question was about mounting to access on the network from the FreeNAS not on a Mac which is why I’m asking here

garm

Wizard
You want to mount the ISO in FreeNAS? Why would you want to do that?

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Seems to me you would just copy the contents of the CD to a directory and share that, then map the drive to it.

Or are you looking for software that makes an ISO shared on the network appear to be a CDROM "virtual" drive on the computer you want to use it on (like Daemontools used to do on windows... maybe it still does)

joeschmuck

Old Man
@Svon
I'm going to drop my 2 cents as well here and please understand that you are asking for something which FreeNAS does not natively support but the folks here are still trying to help you. I say this because your previous answer comes off as angry. We are treating you with respect and appreciate it if you do the same.