SOLVED "old" TrueNAS install can't find web, fresh install can

Illanair

Dabbler
Howdy Y'all.

I'm having a bit of trouble getting my existing(old) TrueNAS install to boot up and grab networking access like it used to (I recently moved and tore down my PC beforehand). A fresh install on a new SSD works just fine, so something in the old one's config must have been messed up? How do I find out and/or replace/fix this? (I am VERY new to command line and FreeBSD/Linux style workflow and syntax so please be patient)

I've already tried a manual upgrade to the newest version of TrueNAS on the old drive (keeping old settings), to see if that did the trick but no dice. Now normally I'd just move on with life and use the fresh install, but I've got an existing 6TB (single drive) pool connected to the PC (and I don't know if the new one would detect and read this properly? before asking for steps here) and I've got a PLEX plugin that has a ton of "watched this and that" info I'd prefer to keep for the sake of the family (who uses it has a media center)

TLDR; Is there a way to reset just the networking information for an existing install but retain the rest of the config? Can I make a backup through the bootup shell somehow before nuking anything by accident?

PC is a selfbuilt Ryzen 2200G based setup with a Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac (using the built in Intel NIC) if that matters.

Nick2253

Wizard
Reading between the lines, I'm guessing that your existing TrueNAS networking is not set up correctly for your new home network. The gateway may have changed, or DNS servers, or something similar.

If you have ready access to the console on the existing TrueNAS, then it's easy to just delete the network config and re-add it. Make sure you also add DNS server(s) if you need TrueNAS to access Internet resources.

Illanair

Dabbler