Not sure where to start.

IkeaGnome

Cadet
I'm completely new to the world of NAS. I've been doing some reading on it and every time I read more, I end up thinking a different direction fits my needs better. I have an old computer laying around the house that I'd like to turn into a NAS for some file backups, but mostly as a media server. I was thinking RAID 5/50. Now it's looking like ZFS Z1 is where I want to go. I'm in the process of running ethernet through the house set up to an 8 way switch. Attached to his/hers PCs and TVs in the house.
I don't have experience with Linux, but obviously willing to learn. I also don't have experience with NAS. I know there's going to be a learning curve with both. I'm fine with that. I'd just like to get some help with "Don't do that, this would be a lot better of a solution"
As far as my current build for a NAS. I have a 7700k/1070 system in the closet. It has no RAM in it, but I have 4x8gig sticks that are second hand, but good(Had to switch from them when my pc went ITX). I might end up just throwing all 4 sticks at it since it's highly unlikely they'll find another use.
For the hard drives, I'm leaning towards Seagate 8tb NAS drives, and a Samsung 870 500gb OS/Plugin drive. Ideally, what I'd do is get some feedback and pull the trigger on a set of 4 hard drives. I would like to have the RAID someone modular in a raid 10 or 50 style. 4 Drives now, add 4 later as needed etc. My motherboard has 6 SATA connectors so an expansion slot would be needed at some point. I'd like to buy that with the first batch of drives so it's here and done with(Shipping to Alaska can be fun).