First build, advice please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pirateguybrush

Dabbler
Hey everyone!

I'm thinking of putting together a NAS, and I'd like some advice. I work in IT, but mainly with smallish windows servers (up to about 30 users), and have never personally configured a raid before. Nor do I have experience with linux or freebsd, so this is a pretty steep learning curve. I'm up to about 25 hours of reading on the topic (including the excellent guides by cyberjock, though I can't claim to have understood them completely yet), and I'd like to present a few thoughts on my requirements and what I'm currently considering. Threw up a poll just for fun, too.

Requirements:
-One home user, with occasions where there might be up to around 3 people accessing the NAS
-Currently have about 6TB on assorted drives that I'd like to consolidate onto a NAS
-The data isn't important enough to back up, but it would be a pain to lose it. It's mostly media I could eventually recover (video, disk images). I'd like a reasonable level of protection though
-I'd like to start with 4x4TB drives, but have the option to add drives over time
-I'd like to store steam games I'm not actively playing on there via symlinks, and wonder if it would be viable (if a little slower to load) to run games. I'd keep anything that's being used frequently on the PC itself, I'm just wondering about the overflow.

Option 1:
Raid z2. My understanding is this will require more robust, server-grade hardware, be more expensive and difficult to set up correctly. It will not be possible for me to just add extra drives (without introducing single points of failure for the whole array). However, protection against file corruption is excellent. Possibly even perfect, if set up in the correct way with ECC components?

With this option, are there any future plans to allow this kind of expansion?

Option 2: