ZPool Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

cfendya

Dabbler
hello everyone, noob here and wanting to make sure things are designed appropriately before going down any configurations.

I am looking at what the suggested practice is for laying out vdev's and zpools. I will have 8 x 2TB drives and initially thinking, I was figuring on splitting them into two vdevs of 4 drives in RAID-Z1 configuration. These vdevs would then comprise a single zpool providing 12TB of usable space.

My thinking was future growth in the ability to expand the zpool in smaller chunks (4 drives) vs if I had one huge vdev with 6 drives in a RAID-Z2 configuration. I know where possible, the suggested practice seems to be RAID-Z2 but figured with my above scenario and splitting things up into smaller vdevs, I'd gain the same protection of one large vdev in a RAID-Z2 configuration plus allow for easier expansion in the future.

Would there also be any benefit from an I/O perspective in this configuration as well? Thinking the comparison would be comparable to RAID 5 + 0 vs a RAID 6?

Thanks in advance for any guidance and suggestions.

cfendya

Dabbler
To add to the above, I built a disk layout scheme I've been thinking about. Again, trying to figure out what others are doing and what makes most sense from both a scalability and performance perspective. This will mostly just be used to serve up media (music, movies, and pictures).

disklayout.png

cyberjock

Inactive Account