Not new to FreeNAS, but new registration to the forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,

Great to be here after finally getting around to registering an account. My name is Tristan. I'm a System Administrator in Auckland, New Zealand for the countries largest Satellite TV company. I'm not new to using FreeNAS (in and out of business) but am new to registering on these forums.

I have a long background of working in the IT industry here in NZ and currently get to work with some reasonable size data technologies like Isilon and TSM (Tivoli Storage Manager). As well as the usual IT technologies like Microsoft *insert whatever here*, AD, Cisco, Red Hat, etc etc. I've also worked with the other free NAS products like Rockstor, OMV and NAS4Free. As well as some experience with Synology. And was recently looking at ReFS on Server 2016 for a personal fileserver at home.

My own personal preference for firewalls is PFSense, so I guess you could say I'm comfortable with BSD. However, I'm really a fan of Rockstor as I see BTRFS as the future of data storage. For home and business. At least on par with or perhaps even taking the lead over ZFS in the future (This is speculation but I'm allowed an opinion). Due to the fact Rockstor is built on CentOS/Red Hat, it has a foot in the door to enterprise and business, as well as enthusiasts.

I currently use FreeNAS because it is stable and dependable. As mentioned above, Rockstor may someday provide that level of stability, but until it does, I'm sticking with the most mature and stable product available.

I'm currently running Freenas on the following hardware. Note, I'm going to be upgrading one of my rigs to a 7700K when Kaby Lake is released, so will be moving an i7-6700 to this file-server.

Intel Skylake Pentium G4400
Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI Motherboard
16GB Crucial DDR4 2133Mhz RAM
Inwin Microserver Chassis, Mini-ITX 315W PSU
Intel PRO/1000 PT Quad Port NIC (Low profile)
Intel 600P NVMe 128gb SSD (Cache)