BUILD Noob FreeNAS build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Acidtest

Cadet
Hi all,

I've been running a WHS server for years (since before WHS 2011, when Drive Extender was around) but it's time for a new start. WHS isn't much of an option these days so I've been contemplating the usual NAS boxes from Synology and QNAP. Honestly the Synology DS-716+ would probably be enough for what I do, but I've been building my own PCs for the last 15 years so I have an itch to DIY it. The IXSystems FreeNAS Mini is also quite tempting but I can put together a box that I think is slightly more appropriate and better specced in some ways for less.

Usage - nothing dramatic, the usual home stuff. I'm a bit Apple centric in my end user devices - AppleTV, i-devices, etc. A few specifics:

* iTunes library storage and streaming
* Plex video streaming - since I intend this to last a few years accommodating 4K would be nice.
* Backups of a couple of Windows PCs and a Mac Mini
* Occasional torrents
* Quiet, power efficient

I've done some reading around the FreeNAS forums and reviews on most of the above OTS boxes. Based on that the build I've drafted is as follows:

* Mainboard - ASRock C2550D4I (initially mimicked the FreeNAS mini and chose the C2750 but I think 8 cores is overkill so I can save $90)
* Case - Fractal Designs Node 304
* PSU - SilverStone ST45SF-G SFX Modular 450W (probably overkill but like the modular SFX design and it isn't available in lower power)
* RAM - Crucial 2x8GB DDR3 1600 ECC
* HD - WD Red, probably 4x3TB to start. I don't need massive storage, right now.

Some parts I have available that I could possibly repurpose:

* SanDisk 240GB SATA 3 SSD. OS boot drive?
* Silverstone HTPC case. 7-8 years old, not sure of model but standard ATX midsize, 8 3.5" HD bays. Obviously much larger than a mini-ITX.
* PSU PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 - not modular but not a big deal in larger case.
* Areca ARC-1210 raid card