No previous versions found in Windows, SMB share with snapshots of datasets

cat3481

Cadet
I am running TrueNAS core version TrueNAS-13.0-U3.1 on physical hardware on a small local home network.

I have 5 pools set up, only 4 of which really get used. I want to restore a previous version of some files from the pool "Main-Storage/Backup". When I go to:

Storage -> Snapshots

and filter this for "backup" 7 snapshots are shown, each referencing 7.5 TiB of data. Used space ranges from 300 GiB to 600 MiB for these snapshots, and the date and time look good. So I assume the snapsots are good.

When I go to:

Tasks -> Periodic Snapshot Tasks

I have the pool/dataset "Main-Storage/Backup" listed and enabled, with the naming scheme "auto-%Y%m%d.%H%M-6w"

Reading the page:

I seem to have done this right. This used to work, some time ago, probably a couple of years ago, when I last needed to restore a previous version. I have been using the same hardware for a few years, upgrading the software in place. Since accessing the shares and backing up to them works correctly I assume this is a software problem, probably a configuration problem. I have restarted the SMB service and rebooted the TrueNAS box. No effect. I have rebooted the Windows machines, no effect.

I have accessed the SMB share from both Windows 10 64bit fully patched and Windows 11 64bit fully patched. I am always told there are no previous versions found.

I have looked at:

but everything seems correct, and as I say, I can read and write to the shares quite happily.

Can anyone advice? I assume I have done something basic wrong, but honestly no idea where to look.

cat3481

Cadet