NIC issue on ASUS C60M1-

Status
Not open for further replies.

Loed

Cadet
Hi there, I´m new to NAS and new to this forum.
I have no experience so far with non windows systems.
but I´m interested in learning...

I posted this question in the german area of the forum, but I might get more replies here, as more people speak english than german...

My hardware ASUS C60M1-I Motherboard with Realtek 8111F NIC.
FreeNAS 8.3.0 p1 64bit
3TB hdd, more to come...

My problem is that I don´t get a network connection from FreeNAS although it worked in the first place...

here´s the history of things that happened:
I loaded the .img file on a USB stick and booted the system.
everything worked fine. I got a network connection was able to open the webinterface and started configuring my system.
could mount drives from my win7 system, even sftp access over dynDNS worked.

As i also want to use freeNAS as a printserver i started to install the plugins.
I think that weas when I made a major mistake:
I used the same IP for the jail directory as for the NAS itself. (Even it was said to use a unique ip)

After that nothing worked.

i don´t get a network connection, the router does only show the MAC adress of the NAS but without name or IP and only sometimes.
On the console it says IP 0.0.0.0
manual configuration from the console doesn´t work.
Then I treid to add the realtek driver mentioned here in another thread.
i believe it worked, but I still get no connection.

I also tried to use a new image on the usb drive.
i used an older versions of freeNAS.
I booted without any hdd.
I made an bios upgrade
i made a router reset.

no success.

i installed win7 and the nic worked fine. so it´s not an hardware issue.

But it worked fine with freeNAS in the first place, so what is wrong?
i have no idea.

one thing maybe of importance:
when booting it says

F1 FreeBSD
F2 FreeBSD
F5 Drive0

F6 PXE

Boot F19

but i cannot really chose, or don´t know how.
has this to do with what will boot?