NFS benchmarks seem to be a bit disappointing, am I doing something wrong?

wlevels

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to TrueNAS, I already read through a lot. It's a great community with a lot of information. Hopefully I didn't miss a possible answer to my following question:
I spent some time with some virtualised TrueNAS instances to practice a bit and just built up my first TrueNAS server.

Supermicro X10SLM+-LN4F
E3 1245v3 - 3.4 Ghz
4x8GB (32GB) DDR3 ECC
4x Gbit
2 disk Mirror (4TB Seagate Ironwolf 5900 RPM)

The benchmarks I am running against it seem to be a bit disappointing. At least, I would like some feedback from you guys how I configured TrueNAS and how I am testing.
Hopefully you guys can point me in the right direction.

Currently I have two 4TB Seagates in a Mirror, the Dataset has been setup with default settings.
I am testing VMWare performance by using NFS. I connected the NFS Datastore to one of my VMWare hosts and installed an Ubuntu VM on it so that I can run some tests.
The pool contains 1 vdev, the used space is 33% (I already ran an RSYNC job from my Synology to the TrueNAS in an effort to start moving stuff over).

If I run iperf3, I have the following results:

PC --> TrueNAS = 92 Mbit/sec
PC <-- TrueNAS = 100 Mbit/sec

(Adding Synology results below with the TrueNAS results, just as a comparison. The Synology is a 5 disk DS1511+)

When benchmarking using DD on the Ubuntu VM that runs on the VMWare Host and has its storage on TrueNAS I have the following results:
ESXI VM --> TrueNAS
dd if=/dev/zero of=tmp.dat bs=2048k count=12k = (26 GB, 24 GiB) copied, 538.861 s, 47.8 MB/s
ESXI VM <-- TrueNAS
dd if=tmp.dat of=/dev/null bs=2048k count=12k = (26 GB, 24 GiB) copied, 233.112 s, 111 MB/s

If I run the same test on an Ubuntu VM that has its storage on the Synology I have the following results:
ESXI VM --> Synology
dd if=/dev/zero of=tmp.dat bs=2048k count=12k = (26 GB, 24 GiB) copied, 305.886 s, 84.2 MB/s
ESXI VM <-- Synology