Newbie that started with FreeNAS Corral

Status
Not open for further replies.

HJS

Cadet
I've been using a Thecus NAS for years, but the thing was at capacity and one drive was degrading.

When I heard about FreeNAS I decided to have a go at that as a replacement system. About three weeks ago my hardware kit was delivered to my home and to prevent two consecutive learning curves I installed FreeNAS 10 Corral. (yup, I'm a total newbie/n00b/etc)

Thing worked like a charm, so about a week ago I migrated all my data to the FreeNAS system and destroyed the old NAS.

Only today I read this thing about Corral moving out of release, so now I'm lurking to see what steps I need to take to get from my current Corral installation to FreeNAS 9.10.3 when it gets released. I only have a Plex docker running and I'm more than happy if that thing dies. Setting up a docker on my dedicated VM Host server should be trivial anyway. The only things I'm worried about are my data (I have no target for a full backup), data set definitions, share (CIFS and NFS) definitions, permissions and users (for accessing those shares).

Pretty sure that the migration path should not be too difficult, but I haven't read it yet ;-)

Setup is as follows:
Main board: Asus P10S-WS
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1245 v5 (CPU VM Support: Full)
RAM: 64G 2133 ECC DDR-4 (4x 16G)
HDD: 8x Seagate IronWolf 6T, Single RAIDZ2 Volume
Boot from: 2x Mushkin Ventura Ultra 120 GB USB3 drives in mirror
HDD Controllers: Onboard main board
NIC: Onboard main board
FreeNAS: Clean install of Corral 10.0.2 that updated to 10.0.4. Scratching head on how to get down to 9.10.x

Last edited by a moderator:

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Plex is an easy fix either via the plugin or (my preferred way) a manual jail install.