Newbie, Setup, Performance, Safety

bacardi8

Explorer
Hi Guys,

First of all, great forum you have here, I'm happy to join in here. I spend some time already to look around and read
some interesting things in the different sections. I'm new to TrueNas so I think and hope that I
can learn and and also get some great suggestions from you guys.

Since I'm new to this, and since I didn't so far find some directly answers to some questions that I have, I would like
to ask you experts here about suggestions.

My Server Hardware :

Case : Fractal Design Define 7

MB : Asus Rog Crosshair VIII Dark Hero

CPU : Ryzen 9 3900X

GPU : Asus Phoenix GTX 1660 Super OC

RAM : 64GB Samsung DDR4 REG/ECC

PSU : Corsair HX750 80+ Platinum

SSD : 2x Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 NVME 250GB

HDD : 3x WD Red Plus 14TB

The TrueNas server that I'm trying to setup will from the beginning be used as a full media server only.
Means Plex and Emby will be installed to serve the household with audio, video and photos.
Only 1 user account is needed, and transcoding will only be needed in very few cases and very seldom.

Main Target for this is Performance, with "some" safety.

Later on my plan is to backup some cad/cam files, and other work related files,
for this I will then install additional two 4TB SSD's, and create a second user account for that.

Main Target for this is safety pure.

So my question now is, how would a setup for my requests look like..???

My own thinking is as following :

Media Server,

1. Install TrueNas on Samsung 250GB NVME (should I maybe mirror with the second Samsung NVME..??)
2. Create 1 Pool for all media, using the 3 WD Red Plus 14TB (what Raidz..??).
3. Create dataset for all media.
4. Install Plex and Emby and mount both to the media dataset.

Cad/Cam Backup Server,

1. Install two 4TB SSD's
2. Create a pool with these two SSD's in Mirror.
3. Create a new user and backup the files.