New build, need critique please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Newton

Dabbler
I am needing to build a small storage for our small office here. I've been using FreeNAS for quite a few years on the old machine and its starting to act glitchy.

So my needs are not great, and I have gone over all the stickys and such, but good grief there is a lot of stuff to choose from. So I kind of just started picking and choosing for the best small box I could make at the best price.

We are only talking a limited amount of file sharing, and at MOST 5-6 people on at a time. The system usually does not even see more than 2 people on at a time. Small files and such, not a video or music server. Just office paperwork. The current system has only two disks, under 10GB on each and probably will hover around that for many years to come.

Here is what I have picked out. Let me know if I am way over doing it, or if there is something really screaming it wont work if you would. I've built a few computers for us in the past, but times change pretty quickly and I get out of the loop.

Box - not sure if it even matters that much - Rosewill CHALLENGER
PS - Rosewill Valens-500, Valens Series 500W Power Supply, 80 PLUS Gold Certified
MB - SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600
CPU - Intel Core i3-4160 Haswell Dual-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 54W
Drives - WD Red NAS Hard Drive WD10EFRX 1TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
RAM - Crucial 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Server Memory Model CT51272BD160B

Thoughts?

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
8GB is the minimum RAM required to run freenas. Also you really should pick a better PSU than the one you selected.

get 16Gb ECC RAM, approved for your mobo, deff a diff psu, a battery backup unit if you dont have one already, and how many drives and what RAIDz?

Newton

Dabbler