Network configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrim

Cadet
Hello,

I'm new to freenas and have really little knowledge about network.

Still I managed to install freenas correctly and everything run smoothly (users can connect share file on the network, etc.).

Now I would like to install plugin on my freenas install and... I'm lost.
Basically I understand that my freenas installation need to be able to access internet to install plugin. I read the .doc but I'm unsure of what to do.

Security is not a big issue for me, but still I would prefer if my nas is not fully open to the internet.
From what I understand it's currently only accessible from my private network (that's why plugins can't be installed).

Do I need to configure a "global network configuration"; a "static route" or an "interface" ?
My setup is a simple modem/hub on which every station are connected at home (freenas included).

Thanks in advance for your answers,
(a link to a decent howto would be greatly appreciated; this question has probably already been discuss, could not find it though).

Adrim,

kdragon75

Wizard
Do I need to configure a "global network configuration"; a "static route" or an "interface" ?
All of the above. If you can connect from other computers on your network, you have the interface configured. If you have not set the default-gateway and DNS server, you need to do that before the server can communicate with the internet. This will not leave it open to the internet. Take look HERE or lots of information and guides.

Adrim

Cadet