Need assistance with hardware choice and understanding before buying.

jackdinn

Contributor
Hi all,
Noob here,
So i'v been searching for nearly a year now for a NAS with other things to tinker with like Adguard and syncthing etc, but without much luck. Im just so confused, just can't make up my mind and full of questions.
Iv decided i shall go for a second hand prebuilt server system
like this (poweredge T420)
or this (Poweredge T320)
The question i firstly have is what is this drive controller board? do you have to have one? Can i just plug in sata 3.5" HDD's onto the mobo? does the mobo even have sata connectors?
If a system already has SAS drives, can i add extra normal drives? can i get rid of these SAS drives and completely replace with standard 3.5 sata HDD's, if i wanted? Can i mix and match?
Also, what is this Raid Controller? I dont want any RAID as i intend to use truenas and ZFS so how do i deal with this controller? do i just remove it?
Thx all.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
The question i firstly have is what is this drive controller board?
Can i just plug in sata 3.5" HDD's onto the mobo?
Yes, but...
does the mobo even have sata connectors?
...the specifics depend on the server and its specific configuration. That will require somewhat deep research into what you want to buy. Also have a look at the ServeTheHome Forums, where there's a lot of specific knowledge on popular server models.
If a system already has SAS drives, can i add extra normal drives?
can i get rid of these SAS drives and completely replace with standard 3.5 sata HDD's, if i wanted? Can i mix and match?
SAS is in no way abnormal, but yes, you can mix and match. All the SAS hardware recommended here works well with both SAS and SATA.
Also, what is this Raid Controller? I dont want any RAID as i intend to use truenas and ZFS so how do i deal with this controller? do i just remove it?