NAS on a dime; Build review

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sokonomi

Contributor
Hi all,

I'm new to the scene, and after some finnicking around with FreeNAS on a virtual machine I wanted to finally step into the wonderful world of NAS. After spending most of my life dealing with VMs and crappy windows boxes to do my dirty work, I figured it was time to step it up a notch. Unfortunately im just a working man with an expensive hobby, so my funmoney is limited, and that means I will have to skimp on a few of the fancier features. Someone here on the forum kindly suggested id put my build up for review and suggestions, so here I go!

What I have to work with;
2 x Western Digital Green - 3Tb
2 x Western Digital Green - 1Tb
1 x Western Digital Caviar - 200Gb (heh)
1 x Samsung - 1Tb
All of them still in 100% health according to S.M.A.R.T.

My budget is about 500 to 550 euros (that includes shipping!).

What do I want to do;
Im probably asking a lot, but im going to try anyway;
- Centralized storage for the entire family (mom&pop store, plus living on 2nd floor).
- Media handling that involves sabNZBd, Transmission, Sickrage, Couchpotato, and Plex.
- WAN accessible cloud storage (I want us to be able to access everything from our phones).

What I had in mind;
I thought it would be best to buy two more 3Tb drives to pool them together with the two WD greens ive already got, setting them up as RAIDz1 for that one disk parity redundancy. Only about 350gb of my data is actually important, so I was thinking of making a second pool using the two WD green 1Tb drives, possibly striped for extra speed, to keep a backup of my important dataset, along with the jail dataset that could make good use of a fast scratchdisk. So in summary; 4 x 3Tb in RAIDz1 + 2 x 1Tb in Striped.

How I intend to do it;
I want to purchase the following items;
Mobo : Asus Prime B250M-K
CPU : Intel Pentium G4400 Boxed
RAM : Corsair ValueSelect CMV8GX4M1A2400C16 1x8gb
HDD : 2x WD Red WD30EFRX, 3TB