Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

My experiences with FN 11.2 RC1

Western Digital Drives - The Preferred Drives of FreeNAS and TrueNAS CORE
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wouter

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2016
Messages
31
After some successful upgrades from U6 to beta1, 2, 3 and now RC1, my experiences are:

* after upgrade to RC1, network was lost. I had a static IP configured on em0 , this was gone. So, I had to enable static IP again. Strange, never happened before in the betas.
* I had a user ' john ' . I deleted this user via de UI. Not in the list anymore. Then on the CLI:
Code:
root@bert:/mnt # id john
uid=1005(john) gid=1001(users) groups=1001(mygroup)

I was expecting the user was gone.
* I have two bhyve VM's. I ticked now so many times the box ' Start on boot ' to disable start on boot, then press ' Save ' ... the VM's start at boot! Unchecking the box ' Start on boot ' is not saved/stored.
* The overal performance of the box is rather poor. I experience this for example when connecting with SSH to the box, or loading the login page, refreshing the page with SMB services. No changes from the betas to RC1 in hardware nor services. Can it be this vague process?

Code:
  PID USERNAME	THR PRI NICE   SIZE	RES STATE   C   TIME	WCPU COMMAND
72873 root		  1  87	0 12464K  2856K RUN	 1   4:19  94.86% winacl
 
D

dlavigne

Guest
Please report the winacl process usage at bugs.freenas.org and post the issue number here.
 

Wouter

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2016
Messages
31
* I have two bhyve VM's. I ticked now so many times the box ' Start on boot ' to disable start on boot, then press ' Save ' ... the VM's start at boot! Unchecking the box ' Start on boot ' is not saved/stored.
Ok, it seems nothing is saved for the VM's. Not in the new beta nor in the old GUI :(.
 

Attachments

Wouter

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2016
Messages
31
Ok, it seems nothing is saved for the VM's. Not in the new beta nor in the old GUI :(.
I've reverted back from 11.2RC1 to 11.2beta3. Then my VM settings are saved and no performance issues, so it seems.

Only, the changes I made to the system while running RC1 were not active when I booted into the beta3 environment. I did put an extra SATA disk in the system and created an encrypted pool. And I changed the MAC of a VM.
Is this normal behavior that changes were not active in beta3, coming from RC1? I've never gone back a boot environment before.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top