Middlewared Not Started During Boot

gladiola

Cadet
I'm a FreeNAS newbie who's been using FreeBSD for about ten years. I tried my first FreeNAS install last night, and it has not gone well. I cannot get the system to stand up completely; I see persistent error messages about the middlewared not started. As near as I can tell, it creates a cascade of other errors that I see.

I think I am probably experiencing the same kind of condition described in this unsolved thread: https://www.ixsystems.com/community/threads/middleware-failed-to-start.75493/

I am installing FreeNAS 11.2-U3 to a Dell T110 Poweredge with 8GiB RAM and four HDD in the box. The ISO was written to a USB drive. BIOS set to boot from the internal drive. I can tell you that I had to try many times to write the ISO. The installer was so quiet that several times I had thought it had just completely stalled out and was doing nothing. I wasn't sure if I was wrestling with the BIOS settings or the installer of a new kind of system I had not used before.

I would clear the USB by switching it back over to a Win10 machine and reformatting the drive. Once written to drive, it took about an hour for the install process to complete. The console output was extremely slow. Compared to other FreeBSD installs from ports, I did not see the type of output I would have been expecting. Out of exasperation, I just left the machine alone and let it run. At one point, it was about a one word change every ten or twenty minutes. Very slow. It eventually picked up speed after the base os install part 1 segment. I did see and receive a "Success" dialog that matches the one on the directions. When I powered up this morning for its initial trial, that's when I started seeing the middlewared not started errors.