Moving files between datasets on same HDD is very slow.

vyktrii

Cadet
I've been using truenas on a single 5tb hdd mainly for Plex, but I also download on the same HDD itself on a different data set and then move it to Plex folder, but that process is extremely slow, is there any solution ?

If I attach another 1tb hdd for downloads and then move data from there to my previous hdd, will the moving speed increase substantially ?

PS. I'm new to nas, so pls forgive me if this is a basic question, I was just tired of getting crappy video quality after paying shitton of money to streaming services

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
I've been using truenas on a single 5tb hdd mainly for Plex, but I also download on the same HDD itself on a different data set and then move it to Plex folder, but that process is extremely slow, is there any solution ?

If I attach another 1tb hdd for downloads and then move data from there to my previous hdd, will the moving speed increase substantially ?

PS. I'm new to nas, so pls forgive me if this is a basic question, I was just tired of getting crappy video quality after paying ****ton of money to streaming services
When you move files from one dataset to another, we have to copy then remove the original. If you keep everything inside the same dataset, we can simply rename(), which is more-or-less instantaneous.

vyktrii

Cadet
If I attach another hdd and create a dataset and I move data between two HDDs, will it be substantially faster?

Heracles

Wizard
Hi,

If I attach another hdd and create a dataset and I move data between two HDDs, will it be substantially faster?

No matter faster or not, it would be foolish. You would ruin your pool, a situation that would be fixable only by destroying and re-creating your pool completely.