Missing the import option

neba

Dabbler
I installed TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.0, and I can't find Import option in Storage tab. It doesn't look the same to me as in the manual for Truenas Scale. Here is screenshot.

Truenas Scale manual

disk uputstvo.jpg

At my config
disk.jpg

danb35

Hall of Famer
What is it you're wanting to import? If you're wanting to import a pool, I'd think the big button marked import pool would be the thing to use.

neba

Dabbler
No, I would like to insert ntfs drive and copy the files. In general, it bothers me and I think I didn't do something right, so I can't see all the options. I'm still new to all this.

Click on the "Disks" drop-down button at the top of the page.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Then the Docs on the website is vague at best, or incorrect at worst?
Apparently. Because there's no Import Disk button on the Disks screen.

ChrisRJ

Wizard
We just had a thread about this. The recommended way to import NTFS, due to its complexity, is to use SMB via a Windows client.

@anodos , I hope I represented your advice correctly. Please feel free to correct me otherwise.

EDIT: Fixed typo

Last edited:

neba

Dabbler
We just a thread about this. The recommended way to import NTFS, due to its complexity, is to use SMB via a Windows client.

@anodos , I hope I represented your advice correctly. Please feel free to correct me otherwise.
Can you post link to this thread. Thx.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
We just had a thread about this. The recommended way to import NTFS, due to its complexity, is to use SMB via a Windows client.

EDIT: Fixed typo

It's a general bit of advice. Data migrations should always be done protocol-to-protocol to ensure that everything is preserved correctly. This is in broad terms how things are done in the enterprise space, and is generally the best tested / validated.