Mirroring of 2 HD

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xaint

Dabbler
Hi,

I'm new to this system and I still have doubts and questions, so please forgive me in advance (and I speak bad english).
I built a new FreeNas system with these specifications:

- Asrock H270M-ITX/ac
- Intel Pentium Processor G4400
- RAM 16GB DDR4
- 2 WD Red 1TB + flash memory (OS)

My idea is to use these system like a nas and personal cloud for my work. I have very important files and I would like to use the second HD like a mirror of the first one.
I didn't uderstand very well the guide and i didn't find other thread where these is specificated.
Possibly I would like to have advice on design of the storage so i can build myself the perfect system.

thanks you all

gpsguy

When you create the pool in volume manager - http://doc.freenas.org/11/storage.html#volume-manager

you can select your 2 x 1TB drives and create a mirrored pool. If you've already created your volume, if you issue the command zpool status from the shell, you can see your current layout. If you have any questions, post the output of that command here, in code tags.

When used, data is written to both drives at the same time, so that if one disk failed, the contents would still be available on the other one.

By the way, there's no need to apologize for your command of the English language. It's fine.

Xaint

Dabbler
When you create the pool in volume manager - http://doc.freenas.org/11/storage.html#volume-manager

you can select your 2 x 1TB drives and create a mirrored pool. If you've already created your volume, if you issue the command zpool status from the shell, you can see your current layout. If you have any questions, post the output of that command here, in code tags.

When used, data is written to both drives at the same time, so that if one disk failed, the contents would still be available on the other one.

By the way, there's no need to apologize for your command of the English language. It's fine.