Micro ATX Home NAS with Upgrade path. Suggestions Welcome.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Senti_Mentel

Dabbler
So first off a little back story...

I'm Senti_Mentel, and I want to build a Home NAS for my personal data storage. I've decided to do this mostly due to lack of HDD bays in most of my PC's as well as the ludicrous amount of video footage I produce in just a 6 month period. I have always built my own and many others bersonal PC's unless a custom built does not suit the use case scenario(which is quite rare) and over the years I have accumulated a lot of spare hardware. So after a recent move I decided to actually put some of this hardware to use and see just how useful all this stuff can be.

So my first project is a Home NAS and for the past few weeks i have been reading through these forums and researching FreeNAS in an effort to gain somewhat of an understanding before diving right in. I'm completely new to FreeNAS, ZFS file systems, and Raidz, but relatively fluent in windows, debian based linux distros, and enthusiast grade consumer hardware.

Now that that's out of the way let's get to the good stuff...

I suppose the best place to start would be my intended usage and top priorities, as well as my personal data back up routines. My top priority is mass storage and access to video files as I do quite a lot of video capture, creation, and editing and this is by far the largest portion of my data. After researching FreeNAS I've stumbled upon some of the other uses for it and would like to incorporate some media streaming ability and personal file access while away from my home network if possible although these are definitely lower on my list of priorities as i have more then enough hardware to make multiple machines.

This machine will not stay the same. The following section is simply a starting point and will be upgraded as I accumulate more use specific hardware and learn more about my needs for FreeNAS.