Metadata vdev layout for RAIDZ2

Shigure

Dabbler
I have read a lot about metatdata vdev recently so I generally have the idea. As I'm still pretty new to TrueNAS and ZFS, maybe ask before I do it makes more sense.

I planned a 5-wide RAIDZ2 data pool with 16TB HDDs, and want to add a metadata vdev to it. I have 4x 1TB SATA SSDs laying around so here is what I'm thinking:

The 2 options are: 4 wide RAIDZ2 as metadata vdev, or 3-way mirror with 1 hotspare as metadata vdev.
3-way mirror will be slightly faster than RAIDZ2 for metatdata because those are all small files(I assume.) Both allows 2 drives to fail, but 3-way mirror comes with a hotspare in addition. And 1TB metatdata should be enough for a 5-wide RAIDZ2 with 16TB HDDS(about 2.5% of storage taking account of the 20% free capacity suggestion of ZFS).

So I should go for 3-way mirror, is that correct?

(Still waiting for a bifurcation card and an extension cable to arrive so don't really have the ability to test...)

Arwen

MVP
There is a difference between using a special vDev for metadata, (aka file directory information, access control lists, etc), and small files. If I remember correctly, either or both are possible, but it would depend on your application which would be better.

What is your application?
Please describe the rest of your hardware.

Another option is a to use 3 x 1TB SATA SSDs for small files, and use the last 1TB SATA SSD as a L2ARC for metadata only. This depends on the amount of memory you have, because a L2ARC requires some memory for the reference table of the L2ARC entries. And of course, the application maters. Even if you did use one 1TB SATA SSD for L2ARC, in an emergency, you can detach it at any time to replace a failing 1TB SATA SSD in the special vDev.

Shigure

Dabbler