Media folders vs. streamings + DLNA issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

embe

Dabbler
Hi,

I am new to both FreeNas and also home media streaming including DLNA. I installed freenas few days ago, later on plugin jail, then plugins, all of them working OK. Browsing this forum and also google i realized it will not be that easy to stream music and movies over the netowork, at least for me. Plex is not possible, minidlna/upnp doesn't support subtitles and all media types. I am from eastern europe so for me subs are very important.

I have huge movie library and i thought it will not be necessary to create datasets or folders for each genre (commedy, drama, sci-fi, horror etc) and also for music genres (rock, pop, jazz etc). I was thinking there will be something like Plex or XMBC in FreeNas and i am dissapointed that it is not. But i am not giving up.

So i would like to ask you what is your Media folder setup in FreeNas, what hardware setup you have in your livingroom (if you stream through some media player or directly to your TV over DLNA) I have mediaplayer Xtreamer Pro which is able to play 99% of files. Upnp capable and it runs on Linux. It has some kind of Movie Jukebox but it's not what i am looking for (not possible to sort movies based on genre, artist, length, director, actors etc...

So is there some kind of "ideal solution" either how to set up media folders in FreeNas, or solution so i don't need to create several genre folders - some media player which will scan movies inside the FreeNas and give me a possibility to view custmizable movie library (sort based on genre, actor, director and so on)? Something like my Xtreamer and Plex :)

Just additional question - have no clue how exactly DLNA works, i mean how does it work - if i installed 8player to my iphone and i tried miniDLNA it worked but it lagged like over wifi - is this normal? It was 720p movie. VOB file was ok. 1080p movie lagged even more and sound was far ahead of picture. Is this OK?