Map Network Drive using Different Credentials

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christopher Joyson

Contributor
Hi

I have been using Freenas for Almost 8 months now with just open access,as its a home computer, however I would like to now share folders with User names.
I have created a media folder shared it with CIFS and have the User name Chris with the Folder "Media" as a home directory.
However when I want to Map the network Drive,as per the IXstems example on YouTube Frenas@ 9.2.1.8 Transmission Plugin" I cannot seem to be able to get the username correct.
Am I using the right convention?
My Work group is "WORKGROUP" Freenas is "FREENAS"my user name is Chris I enter

WORKGROUP\\FREENAS\Chris in as the user and then my password then the result is the sign in box again with my original laptop sign on name.

I have tried just "Chris" and "\\FREENAS\Chris"all for the same result- where am I going wrong?

Sorry to Sound like a complete Dummy - But I take it that I am!

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Create datatsets and set their owners.
Share them via CIFS.
Access the shares from Windows (keep in mind that Windows will auto-login with currrent credentials and will not allow you to try a different user if the Windows credentials are accepted by the server).
Set permissions from Windows.
Profit!

Christopher Joyson

Contributor
Hi Eric
I've done all that; it is the password and user format I windows I am lacking!

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
It should be just like you input it on the server. No more, no less.

Erwin

Dabbler
When you map a network drive from a Windows PC, your will first need to specify \\server\share
e.g. \\FREENAS\Media < just verify that you use the right share name of your freenas box