Lost access to SMB share "Permission Denied"

Cascadoo

Dabbler
What's in /usr/local/etc/smbusername.map?

The only mapping I'm aware of that should be happening is the "Microsoft account" one that handles email. And, I'm no SMB expert.

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Summoning @anodos ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ

Seems to be empty:

Code:
root@freenas[/usr/local/etc]# cat /usr/local/etc/smbusername.map
#
# SMB.CONF(5)        The configuration file for the Samba suite
#

Cascadoo

Dabbler
Just for comparison here is the same line from the FreenasVM for a successful connection (user on the freenas VM is john):

Code:
Auth: [SMB2,(null)] user [WORKGROUP]\[john ] at [Wed, 29 Apr 2020 03:09:01.597367 PDT] with [NTLMv2] status [NT_STATUS_NO_SUCH_USER] workstation [MBLPC] remote host [ipv4:192.168.2.11:50202] mapped to [WORKGROUP]\[john ]. local host [ipv4:192.168.2.211:445]
[2020/04/29 03:09:08.626148,  4] ../../auth/auth_log.c:751(log_successful_authz_event_human_readable)

The remote host is mapped to the user I am trying to connect as on the Freenas VM (john). Unfortunately this is not happening on my physical Freenas system.

workstation [MBLPC] remote host [ipv4:192.168.2.11:50202] mapped to [WORKGROUP]\[john ]

Korros

Cadet
hi, it sounds like iam facing the same problem.
is there a solution or a workaround for it?

Cascadoo

Dabbler
I did take a break from it for while so no resolution yet unfortunately. I have compared with my working VM/ test system and cannot spot any differences but probably looking in the wrong places although the setup and creation process on both systems are identical.

Cascadoo

Dabbler