SOLVED LMS Logitech Media Server installation (TrueNAS Core 13.x)

sonyhome

Dabbler
[EDIT] See post #8 for full recipe, posts #1~#7 might have more details on questions you may have if you hit issues.

I am a noob to TrueNAS.

I tried to install LMS as a plugin and it failed with the following error messages flashing in popup windows, telling me either the tar file couldn't be fetched anymore or it's not a tar file being fetched, but the scripts are broken:
downloading the latest stable version of LMS
tar: error opening archive: unrecognized archive type
Error: slimserver had a failure Exception: RuntimeError Message: Last 10 lines: tar: Error opening archive: Unrecognized archive format Partial plugin destroyed
CLOSE
Then saw some posts saying I should avoid plugins.

So plan B: A more manual install using a recipe that works. I had to dig around and follow a few dead ends so my contribution is to say this works in 2023:

Follow these old instructions from a FreeNAS 2018 post response from alwu:
  1. create a lms jail via the gui.
  2. add your music dataset as storage
  3. ssh into the freenas server.
  4. use jls to find the jail number for logitechmediaserver_1.
  5. jexec <lms jail number> tcsh
  6. pkg update
  7. pkg upgrade
  8. pkg install portmaster
  9. portsnap fetch extract
  10. setenv ALLOW_UNSUPPORTED_SYSTEM 1
  11. portmaster audio/logitechmediaserver
  12. selected flac and lame support on the first screen and disabled tests. kept the defaults for the remaining screens.
  13. echo 'logitechmediaserver_enable="YES"' >> /etc/rc.conf
  14. service logitechmediaserver start

Details:
1- I created it via the web UI jail menu, add button.
2- Mount your dataset to /media for example
3- I just used the web UI jail's shell to run the commands, instead of step 3,4,5 and it works
13- I used vi to do this but just make sure there's no spaces around = and double quotes for YES.