BUILD Is this build good enough?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I am currently looking at building a FreeNAS server primarily for Plex and Bittorrent but also to backup files etc.
It needs to be able to transcode at 1080p (Practically only to 1 device at a time, but could possible increase to 2 or 3 - they may not all need transcoding however).

I have spent a lot of time in the forums trying to find the cheapest hardware that'll do the job (I'm a poor Student). I have managed to create a build which is just shy of £550, components are listed below.

• Fractal Design Node 304 - £56.00
  • ASROCK E3C224D2I - £145.99
  • Intel Pentium G3420 Dual Core (3.2 Ghz, 3mb) - £45.41
  • Kingston ValueRam 8GB DDR3L 1600MHZ ECC - £66.39
  • WD - 2TB Green x 3 - £59.90 each - £179.70
  • Corsair Builder Series CXM 500W Modular - £48.80
If you could just let me know if you think this will work. Like I said I am a poor student so it really doesn't need to be amazing - just do the job I need reliably.

Thanks for your help.

Paul

Fraoch

Patron
Looks good!

It can probably transcode 1 stream, but 2 or 3 might push it. However if you get to that point, upgrade it with a Core i3 or even a Xeon. It's a good start at least.

There are some indications that Pentiums may not work in future versions of FreeNAS, but this will work for now and it's upgradeable.

That's good to hear, do you know of any parts that may be cheaper than the one's I've listed above but still do the job?

Fraoch

Patron
Umm, wouldn't want to go cheaper...that's probably about as low as you could get. Theoretically you could step down to the Pentium G3220 but since you know you're transcoding for sure, you're borderline for CPU as it is. However you will have a nice upgradeable platform.

Oh one thing I noticed - if you can, get Crucial RAM as Kingston has been swapping out parts. They should cost more or less the same. Crucial has an extensive motherboard compatibility checker.