BUILD My first FreeNAS build. Thoughts and suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

despian

Cadet
Hi everyone. I'm new to FreeNAS and BSD in general but I’ve been doing some reading and really like the sound of the software. I'd be very grateful for any advice you can offer me on my new build.

My use case: Mainly media storage but will also be some backups, torrents and other miscellanea. Will also be running a number of jails; a few web servers, database server, torrent server, etc.
Will be sharing media out via nfs, cifs and webserver, maybe dnla too.
Was planning on using old media server as a backup/mirroring device.

The proposed hardware:
Mainboard/case:
HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L
CPU:
AMD Turion II Neo N54L - 2.2GHz dual core - not the fastest but is v low power consumption which is a plus for me. on the down side it's embedded so cannot be upgraded.
RAM:
16GB Kingston 1333MHz CL9 DDR3 ValueRAM Unbuffered ECC - KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G
HDDs:
5x WD Red 3TB - OEM - 1 raidz pool, additional hdd will be connected to sata port reserved for the optical drive which can be run at full speed using this bios patch
maybe 6x in z2, still undecided
Addtional HDD mount:
Icy Box IB-172sk-b SATA Mobile Rack for 5.25 inch Bay for 1 X 3.5 inch SATA and 1 X 2.5 inch SATA HDD
StarTech.com 3.5 inch Universal Hard Drive Mounting Bracket Adapter for 5.25 inch Bay - using this it is possible to fit 2x 3.5" HDDs into the 5.25" bay of this case.
Boot device:
CF Compact Flash Memory Card to SATA Converter Adapter - connected via the external esata port
Transcend Extreme-Speed Compact Flash Memory Card 400x 8 GB - fast and has ecc, worth it for the boot drive?
--or--
Corsair CMFUSB2.0-8GB 8GB Flash Voyager Flash Drive - connected to internal usb port

Q1. which boot option would be better? usb option would be easier and cheaper. would the cf option be worth it?