Is FreeNAS right for me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HeliosFA

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm new to FreeNAS and I'd like to appologise for the length of this post - I seem to have ended up with a rather complex situation and I would like to see if FreeNAS is right for what I am trying to do and if anyone has any experience/tips for how to implement it, or can shout at me if I have something completely wrong :). I've popped this in the N00bs section as it does span a few, and I an a FreeNAS N00b!

Basically, I have three separate locations (soon to be 4) linked across cable WAN connections (30-60Mb bown, 2 to 3 Mb up) by IPSEC VPN where I would like to have access to shared storage.

There are 4 users in total, three of which regularly move between sites and who are getting fed up of either dragging around external hard drives or having slow access to data they don't have on their laptops/local machines. The local clients will mostly be Windows, but some devices are linux-based.

Given the amount of data involved, this storage should have a local instance at each site to provide fast reads and writes.

The storage will be used as a mixture of off-device storage and backup of current work, so I envisage each user having a current work directory, which is subsequently kept in sync with their local device so that they can take the work anywhere, and an "archive" directory which is just used when they are on one of the local networks. There will also be a shared media library syncronised between two of the sites ONLY (the 4th site will likely have the media as well when it joins my little mad house...).

Finally, each node should provide a small area which is NOT synchronised for the storage of OS backup images of local devices which do not move site to site. The two nodes with the media library will probably need to store VM images here as well for local VM servers.