Is FreeNAS right for me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

augmont

Cadet
I need some advice or direction on a storage solution software.

I have a Dell Precision T7500 that has Win 2008 as the OS and a SuperMicro SAS2LP-MV8 controller. It has a 250GB drive for the Win 2008 OS and two (2) 5 TB's drives. This is all a new build. The T7500 will only be used as media server for Emby and storing MKV movie files and music. The T7500 only has legacy mode in the BIOS (no UEFI) which is why i had to purchase the SAS controller.

What I'm having trouble is finding a RAID/back up/et.c solution for the TB's drives. I'm a total newb when it comes to this stuff and want something that will play nice with Emby and is cheap/close to free.

The kicker is I lack internet at home so i need a solution that doesn't require regular internet to update files.

Thoughts or recommendation? Will FreeNAS work for me?

Thanks.

mattbbpl

Patron
I don't think so. Without digging into the hardware compatibility of that machine, it sounds like you are not familiar with FreeNAS. The current OS is irrelevant as FreeNAS itself is the OS. It would completely replace Win2008. It sounds like you are not interested in (or perhaps not aware of) FreeNAS's strengths (such as data integrity) in which case a simpler OS such as Nas4Free or Win2008 would be a better option.

augmont

Cadet
I could turn the T7500 into a NAS or storage only and use another PC's for the media server. Would that change if FreeNAS if right for me?

Last edited:

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
Meh... I'm just trolling a bit :P

mattbbpl

Patron
I could turn the T7500 into a NAS or storage only and use another PC's for the media server. Would that change if FreeNAS if right for me?