BUILD HP DL380e 25x SFF suggestion

maxysoft

Cadet
Hello guys, I'm new to the storage world and FreeNAS so forgive me if I'm wrong. In our company we are planning to make a proxmox cluster consisting of 4 nodes and a dedicated storage. We already have the servers for the various nodes and we have decided how to make the network but we still have the storage question. We do not have a big budget so we were thinking of buying an used HP DL380e G8 25x bay SFF with an LSI SAS 9207-8i HBA controller. In your opinion, is the HP server suitable for storage with that controller? We do not need a great performance for this we have opted for the WD Red 2.5". In case you can tell me something at the same price?
The specs of the DL380e:
- Xeon E5-2407 V2
- 32GB Ram
- 10x WD Red 1TB
Total cost: 800€ without discs.

Thanks a lot.

HP makes sweet hardware. As long as you use an HBA instead of the RAID controller that typically comes with the HP DL series, you should be fine.

I'm hesitant to recommend 2.5" drives because they cost more for the same capacity and rarely come in capacities greater than 2TB.

Price seems about right if I'm converting Euros correctly. You can price check in USD at Orange Computers. They are typically a bit higher than eBay but do allow you to configure exactly the machine you want easily.

Cheers,
Matt

RegularJoe

Patron
if your going proxmox I understand you should look at the hyper converged storage.

For FreeNAS on your HP DL380e G8 I would suggest a PCIe 3.0 hba even though your using just 2 internal ports to drive the 25 poet sas expander. I would keep all expansion cards PCIe 3.0 and if you can get the HP 10 gig mezzanine card in the server I would go for it. If you ever do a FreeNAS storage that is all SSD I would suggest the 16 drive DL380 as each drive gets a dedicated SAS port and does not deal with a sas expander at all but you need a more pricey quad port(16i) card.