SOLVED how to edit files in a dataset

figman

Dabbler
Hello i am trying to figure out how i can edit my plex media folders from inside truenas. i cannot figure out how to edit any of my files or folders in my pool, let alone just in my plex dataset. what am i missing? do i need to access and edit them using SSH or something? Sorry if this is a dumb question i am very new to hosting a server, especially on truenas.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
What specifically are you trying to do? Typically, to modify the contents of a dataset, you create a share, and then map your desktop to that share. You can then edit the files from your desktop.

joeschmuck

Old Man
You need to define what you mean by edit files/folders. If I make an assumption that you are just trying to change the names of files (like movies or music) and then renaming or creating and deleting subdirectories (aka. folders), then you should setup a samba share and do it from an external computer, but yes you can do it from within TrueNAS, you must use the shell and use command line commands to manipulate the data.

figman

Dabbler
What specifically are you trying to do? Typically, to modify the contents of a dataset, you create a share, and then map your desktop to that share. You can then edit the files from your desktop.
You need to define what you mean by edit files/folders. If I make an assumption that you are just trying to change the names of files (like movies or music) and then renaming or creating and deleting subdirectories (aka. folders), then you should setup a samba share and do it from an external computer, but yes you can do it from within TrueNAS, you must use the shell and use command line commands to manipulate the data.
i apologize i shouldve been more clear. i have a season of a tv show that is in the wrong folder and i need to move it to the correct folder. so i just need to move a folder from one to another.

figman

Dabbler