How do I point a media server app like plex or emby to my files that are shared via samba?

holzy843

Cadet
Hi all, first post!

I'm new to using any kind of NAS so apologies if I'm asking dumb questions. I did try reading in the documentation and on google before posting but there's so much conflicting info out there, it's hard to know what to trust.

I've set up my datasets as such:

Screenshot 2023-03-13 194406.png

When trying to add the movies, music, tv directories to the emby app it complains that they are already being used by smb. I have to have smb or how else do I add more files to the directories from windows or linux?

Again I've never used NAS software before and this is a test run to see if I can get it to do what I need, at which time I'll buy proper hard drives (currently using some old WD greens lol)

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
When trying to add the movies, music, tv directories to the emby app it complains that they are already being used by smb. I have to have smb or how else do I add more files to the directories from windows or linux?
Hello @holzy843 - you're bumping into the hostPathValidation checkbox right now.

This setting is on by default to prevent the simultaneous sharing of a dataset over a file-level protocol (SMB/NFS) while also being presented as hostPath storage to Kubernetes. This safety-belt check prevents a Kubernetes application from having the ability to accidentally perform a change in permissions or ownership to existing data in place on a ZFS dataset, or overwriting existing extended attribute (xattr) data, such as photo metadata on MacOS files.

If you're comfortable with the risk, you can uncheck this box under Apps -> Settings -> Advanced Settings - note that you may still need to provide the Apps user (uid 568) with Read-Only access to the files.

holzy843

Cadet
Thanks for the fast response. Is there a way to configure what I'm trying to do without the risk you mention?

HoneyBadger