SOLVED Help with SATA Controller Passthrough from ESXi 6.5 to FreeNAS

djwarwick

Cadet
Hello all, I’m new here and I’ve run into a roadblock. I’m having an issue passing through my onboard SATA controlled from ESXi 6.5 to a FreeNAS VM and was hoping I might get a little help. Before I go any further I would like to provide a little background on what I have and have done up to this point. I bought an old SuperMicro 1U server to play with intending to setup a small home virtualization lab. I’m not an IT guy by trade but consider myself an enthusiast with a reasonable bit of experience. That being said this is my fist go at both vitalization and FreeNAS.

As I mentioned I have a SuperMicro X8DTU-F Server with the following hardware: (https://www.supermicro.com/manuals/motherboard/5500/MNL-1081.pdf)

2 x Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz

48 GB DDR3 ECC Ram

2 x 4TB Ironwolf HDD (Installed in Server Drive Bays attached to the onboard Intel ICH10 Controller)

120 GB Intel SSD Boot Drive (Installed on a separate PCI Card: www.amazon.com/dp/B01452SP1O/ )

I have installed ESXi 6.5 on the SSD and it boots and functions as it should. I have successfully deployed a VM’s with data stores located on the SSD along with one for FreeNAS. FreeNAS boots as it should running as a VM. I will also use a VM as an NVR with the intention of FreeNAS providing the storage for video recordings. In the end I would like to setup FreeNAS to serve media files and provide a backup storage location for photos and the like.