Hello from Southern Cali. I am new to TrueNas Core and like what I have and see so far.

Another-Tech

Cadet
As I begin, I am here for assistance with simply setting network drives ( both Windows and Linux based) that reside at a remote static IP address. I am working strictly remotely via '1 to1 Nat'. I am running TrueNas Core Version: TrueNAS-13.0-U5.1, 95gb of ram, 23 568gb hard drives. I have setup a pool (of 5 disks), added datasets, permissions and a restricted ACL. I have created a user and made that user both the owner and group access to the specific dataset contained in the pool. When I try to connect (map a drive) from a Windows 10 machine I receive a message that the device is not accepting connections of not functioning. I have been following a video guide for setting up a storage pool. What' rather odd to me is the need or abiltiy to setup datasets multiple layers deep. At any rate if I try to map to the bottom layer dataset or use the full path (which looks abnormal to a Windows envrionment) it doesn't work. Over the years I have created shared drives both with Windows boxes and Novell boxes. I think this shouldn't be that complicated at the level of which I am having trouble. I have seen more that one approach to this task. Suggestions please.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Welcome to the forums.

Sorry to hear you're having trouble. Please take a few moments to review the Forum Rules, conveniently linked at the top of every page in red, and pay particular attention to the section on how to formulate a useful problem report, especially including a detailed description of your hardware.