HDD Error

GarryQue

Cadet
I keep getting the following error, I've tested the rives and they seen fine.

CRITICAL​

Device: /dev/sdb [SAT], 65526 Currently unreadable (pending) sectors.​

2023-03-01 02:53:28 (America/Los_Angeles)

Not sure what to make of this...

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

jgreco

Resident Grinch
The drive is telling you, in fairly clear language, that there's a bunch of unreadable sectors on your drive. This is typically a sign that the drive is failing and may completely fail soon.

GarryQue

Cadet
The storage pool has no errors, all drives are online and working. I just have this error in alerts. I'm new to true NAS scale. Is it a pending failure?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

danb35

Hall of Famer
The storage pool has no errors
There's really no reason you should expect that the pool status and the individual disk SMART status have anything whatsoever to do with each other.

Further, this question has come up easily 100 times before--a search for something like "unreadable pending sectors" would find you enough information to keep you busy reading for quite some time.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Well, unreadable sectors only show up if someone tries to read them, so there's some nuance here.

In any case, with 64k+ bad sectors, odds are that it's way more than the ones currently listed.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Try running SMART long tests too. They'll fail, at least on sdb.

GarryQue

Cadet
Yes I did a smart long test, and the drive failed as well. Western Digital Red Drive no good. Replaced drive and all good now. Thanks Heaps for the great software...... Love it.

Replaced drive and all good now.
If you don't mind me asking, which drive model # did you replace it with?

The reason I ask is because I get nervous when I read "Western Digital Red", as it could mean outright "Red" or "Red Plus". The former of which could be an SMR drive.

GarryQue

Cadet