From (old!) 9.2.1.7 to TrueNas 12.0-U1 directly??

Graounest

Cadet
Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new to FreeNas environment!

I managed to get an old config back from someone, which has been built in 2014 and hasn't quite changed since then.

I managed to include this FreeNas into my home local network successfully and everything works pretty good.

I now want to use the full abilities of my NAS to set a Virtual Machine in order to run my domotic Home Assistant server (which is currently running on a vm on my main laptop).

This old NAS configuration is 9.2.1.7 and the web GUI offers no automatic updates.

So I was looking for some information here https://www.ixsystems.com/documentation/freenas/11.3-U5/install.html#initial-preparation

And I understand that the best way is to boot from the latest iso... Which is 11.3-U5 !!

Do you reckon that's a good idea? Or is the gap way too big, and you guys would recommand going steps by steps perhaps?

Btw I realized that 11.3-U5 (Freenas actually) is legacy and now it seems that the latest "real" maintened product is TrueNas

In the same vein : would you recommand upgrading (as in : booting from the latest iso) from 9.2.1.7 to trueNas 12.0-U1 directly?

Many thanks in advance for your wise advices!!

Graou

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Do you reckon that's a good idea? Or is the gap way too big,
The gap is way too big, unless you don't have any complex configuration. If you have basically nothing configured besides a storage pool, it might work.
Please tell us more about your setup, as it is now, so we can give you some better direction.

Graounest

Cadet
Hi Chris, and many thanks for taking care of my questions.

Here are some details

I'm running on version
FreeNAS-9.2.1.7-RELEASE-x64 (fdbe9a0)

No particular settings apart from a SSL certificate defined (I didn't changed it importing this "old" nas to my local network).

I have 3 NTP servers defined 0.freebsd.pool.ntp.org 1.freebsd.pool.ntp.org 2.freebsd.pool.ntp.org