FreeNAS won't boot after CPU upgrade

GlueFactoryBJJ

Dabbler
Hi Everyone!

I sure hope you can help with this one...

For the record, I've been using FreeNAS for over 3 years (since 9.x, I'm currently on 11.2-U5(?)) and I haven't tried doing much other than basic NAS functionality. So, I would consider myself to be both a Unix and FreeNAS n00b, though I have both used and worked in the computer industry since the late 1980s (first computer was a TRS-80 with 4K(!) of RAM and a cassette tape drive storage).

It has worked very well through an upgrade from a SATA to LSI 9206-8i HBA upgrade (FreeNAS detected the drives were connected to the LSI card and configured the 6 x 4TB WD Red ZFS2 array without issue). The switch from USB stick (failing) to HDD and then from HDD to the current SanDisk 120GB SSD. The replacement of a bad 4TB WD Red drive (rebuilt the array without complaint). And even the addition of two additional WD RED drives added to the ZFS array, though I had to back up the array, add the new drives, put the old and 2 new 4TB WD Red drives into a 8 x 4TB WD Red ZFS2 array, and copy the data back to FreeNAS server.

The long and short is that it works well, if a bit on the slow side, which is why I am wanting to upgrade from the current dual core CPU to a (new for this system, but used) quad core.

Anyway, my initial server configuration (before the CPU upgrade), which has worked flawlessly (if slowly) until now, is:

AMD A6-5400 CPU
Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3H motherboard (for the 8x SATA ports and support for 4x DDR3 memory)
2 x 8GB DDR3 1333
1 x DVD player
1 x Sandisk 120GB SSD
LSI 9206-8i HBA
8 x 4TB WD Red HDD in a ZFS2 array (32TB total, 24TB net storage)
Generic Silverstone case
550W 80plus power supply

The only thing that I have done between the above flawlessly working (and no errors on the console before the upgrade) is change the CPU from the A6-5400 (dual core with integrated graphics) to an A8-6500 (quad core with integrated graphics, $20 delivered).